Save the children

I have officially lost all hope for mankind. I used to give people the benefit of the doubt, never judged people I didn’t know, but they have once again disappointed me. It seems that if people are given a choice, they would much rather give in to (sometimes excessive) materialism than to keep their word to a fellow human being.

The pretense for this judgement being an encounter I had on the street a few weeks ago with a volunteer for a group claiming to ‘save the children‘. Unlike some of the egocentric folks that were walking by them without so much as acknowledging their existence, I did in fact stop and enquire about the details of the program (I always felt the need to help a deprived child after watching About Schmidt).

After I told them about my reluctance to commit my financial services without fully researching the group (to avoid funding an organization that bundles food with bibles) the rosy lady with the clipboard (always interesting to note the random selection of sales reps) told me that I should give them all my information, and they would contact me within 14 days to confirm my decision.

3 weeks on, and a quick inspection of my bank account confirmed that they had indeed withdrawn the amount in question (95% of which would apparently all go to the program in question, and a portion of the rest would be given as a commission to the sales rep). To cut a long story short, I made a few calls, got my money back, and will, in the course of the next couple of days, find the representative who took my money, and tell her personally that had she just kept her word and called me, I was more than willing to sponsor a kid or two.

Moral of the story: Trust no-one.

~ by ziddi on April 28, 2006.

3 Responses to “Save the children”

  1. You got taken eh? 😛

    Oh well, I try and do my part, but I prefer to do it in person, rather than rely on some “group” doing it for me.

    But thats just me.

  2. I think it’s terrible you have chosen to “trust no-one” based on the bad incounter you had with this women. I choose to think that just because there are people out there who are greedy and dishonest doesn’t mean that everyone is like that. Give the rest of us a chance. 🙂

  3. trust is a very sublime word my friend. So what life even too. but trust is a word only associated with family and that so called omnipresent self thats all. Take care.

Leave a Reply

 
